FAQ

 

Which Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) department is responsible for administration of mineral exploration and mine operations activities after Devolution?

On April 1, 2014, the Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment (ITI) became responsible for administration of mineral exploration activities (mineral tenure, royalties) under the modernized Mining Regulations. Mine operations activities (e.g. water and land use) will continue to be regulated under theMackenzie Valley Resource Management Act (MVRMA), which will remain a federal responsibility.

ITI will continue to have responsibility for the negotiation and administration of Socio-Economic Agreements and facilitating and enabling employment and business development associated with mineral exploration and mine development and operations.

What happened to existing prospecting permits, mineral claims and mining leases after Devolution?

The Devolution Agreement specifies that existing interests will continue under the same terms and conditions that were in effect at the time of transfer and will remain in effect until the interest is surrendered or is cancelled. Active mineral tenure on public lands will be administered by the GNWT after Transfer Date.

Certain parcels of lands (surface and/or subsurface) remained under federal administration post-Devolution. Mineral claims and mining leases within these parcels will continue to be administered by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC).  Permit and lease holders have been notified as to which jurisdiction will be their administrator. If you have not received your notification, please contact the Mining Recorder’s Office.

How can I differentiate between federal lands and territorial (NWT public lands) after the Transfer Date?

Under the Devolution Agreement, the majority of lands in the NWT are under the administration and control of the GNWT. Certain parcels in the NWT do not fall under territorial administration, including settlement lands (e.g., lands that are the responsibility of Aboriginal governments pursuant to a settled land claim) or waste sites being retained by AANDC. The Mining Recorder’s Office will host a map tool, available through a Mineral Tenure Map that allows you to view claims and will identify parcels of lands that fall under different jurisdictions.

Where will the Mining Recorder’s Office be located?

The Mining Recorder’s Office is part of the Mineral Resources Division within ITI and will remain at its existing location in the Gallery Bulding, located in Yellowknife, NWT.

How do I get a Prospector's Licence after April 1, 2014?

Licences for public lands will be administered by the GNWT but new and existing licences for activities on federal lands will continue to be administered by AANDC. Current licence holders have been notified as to which jurisdiction will administer their properties.  If you have not received your notification, please contact the Mining Recorder’s Office.

You will still go to the Mining Recorder's office to get your Prospector's Licence for activities on Public Lands in the NWT.

How will I stake a claim that falls across the NWT and Nunavut border?

Trans-boundary claims were no longer accepted after Devolution. If you are staking claims near the NWT/Nunavut border, you will be required to stake wholly on one side or the other.

Existing trans-boundary claims will be split as they will be administered by separate jurisdictions after the transfer. 

What legislation is transferring to the GNWT?

AANDC’s current Northwest Territories and Nunavut Mining Regulations (NTNMRs) are being modernized and will be separated; one set for NWT and one for Nunavut. The GNWT will be adopting and mirroring the modernized NWT Mining Regulations to ensure a seamless transfer.

How did Devolution affect royalty rates?

The GNWT collects royalties following the transfer. There will be no changes to the royalty rates established under the NWT Mining Regulations for the foreseeable future. 

Who do I talk to about administration of royalties?

ITI administers the royalty regime established under the NWT Mining Regulations through its Financial Analysis and Royalties Administration Division.

What happened to securities after Devolution?

Where the administration and control of a licence or permit transfered to the GNWT, the GNWT will also administer the associated security. ITI will administer securities associated with mineral claims and mining leases.

Securities (i.e. work deposits) held by the Mining Recorder’s Office will be transferred to the GNWT. The Prospecting Permit Guidelines, issued this year, include instructions to make any non-cash deposits for permit applications payable to the GNWT (as they would only become active after April 1, 2014).

FAQ

 

Quel ministère du GTNO est chargé d’encadrer les activités d’exploration et d’exploitation minières depuis le transfert des responsabilités?

Le 1er avril 2014, le ministère de l’Industrie, du Tourisme et de l’Investissement s’est retrouvé chargé d’encadrer les activités d’exploration et d’exploitation minières (titres miniers, redevances,) en vertu du nouveau Règlement sur l’exploitation minière. Les activités d’exploitation minière (p. ex. utilisation des eaux et des terres) continueront d’être régies par la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie (LGRVM), qui relève du fédéral.

Le MITI continuera d’assumer la responsabilité des négociations et de l’encadrement des accords socio-économiques, en plus de faciliter et d’optimiser l’emploi et le développement commercial du secteur des activités d’exploration et d’exploitation minières.

Le transfert des responsabilités a-t-il eu des répercussions sur les permis de prospection, les claims miniers et les baux miniers?

Il est précisé dans l’entente de transfert des responsabilités que les intérêts existants continueront d’être soumis aux mêmes modalités après le transfert des responsabilités et demeureront en vigueur jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient cédés ou annulés. Les titres miniers actifs sur les terres publiques seront gérés par le GTNO après le transfert.

 

Certaines parcelles de terre (en surface ou sous-sol) continueront de relever du fédéral après le transfert. Les claims miniers et les baux miniers desdites parcelles continueront d’être gérés par AADNC. Les détenteurs de permis et de claims ont été avisés de l’ordre de gouvernement dont ils relèvent. Si vous n’avez pas été prévenu, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau du registraire des mines.

Comment faire la différence entre les terres fédérales et territoriales (terres publiques des TNO) après l’entrée en vigueur du transfert des responsabilités?

En vertu de l’entente de transfert des responsabilités, la plupart des terres des TNO sont administrées et contrôlées par le GTNO. Certaines parcelles ne relèvent cependant pas de l’administration territoriale, en l’occurrence les terres faisant l’objet de revendications (p. ex. les terres relevant des gouvernements autochtones en vertu d’un règlement en matière de revendications territoriales) ou les décharges relevant d’AADNC. Le Bureau du registraire des mines gérera un outil cartographique, sous la forme d’une carte des titres miniers, qui permettra de visualiser les claims et de savoir de quelle administration les parcelles relèvent.

Où se trouvera le Bureau du registraire des mines?

Le Bureau du registraire des mines relève de la Division des ressources minérales du MITI et restera dans les mêmes locaux de l’édifice Gallery à Yellowknife.

Comment obtenir un permis de prospecteur après le 1er avril 2014?

Les permis visant les terres publiques seront gérés par le GTNO, alors que les anciens et nouveaux permis visant les activités sur les terres fédérales continueront d’être gérés par AADNC. Les détenteurs de permis ont été avisés de quelle administration ils relèvent. Si vous n’avez pas été prévenu, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau du registraire des mines.

Pour obtenir un permis de prospecteur pour des activités sur les terres publiques des TNO, il vous faudra également vous rendre au Bureau du registraire des mines.

Comment jalonner un claim se trouvant à cheval entre les TNO et le Nunavut?

Les revendications transfrontalières ne seront plus acceptées après le transfert. Si vous souhaitez jalonner un claim à proximité de la frontière entre les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut, vous devrez entièrement jalonner le claim sur l’un ou l’autre des territoires.

Les revendications transfrontalières existantes seront divisées pour être gérées par les deux administrations après le transfert.

Quels pouvoirs législatifs ont été transférés au GTNO?

Le Règlement sur l’exploitation minière dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut d’AADNC a été mis à jour et séparé en deux textes pour que chaque territoire dispose de sa propre législation. Le GTNO adoptera le nouveau Règlement sur l’exploitation minière des TNO pour assurer une transition en douceur.

Quelles sont les répercussions du transfert des responsabilités sur les taux des redevances?

Le GTNO perçoit les redevances à compter du transfert des responsabilités. Les taux des redevances devraient se maintenir en vertu du Règlement sur l’exploitation minière.

À qui dois-je m’adresser concernant l’administration des redevances?

La Division de l’analyse financière et de l’administration des redevances du MITI gère le régime des redevances en vertu du Règlement sur l’exploitation minière des TNO.

Comment sont gérés les titres depuis le transfert des responsabilités?

Lorsque l’administration ou le contrôle d’un permis a été transféré au GTNO, ce dernier doit aussi assumer la gestion des titres connexes. Le MITI gérera les titres liés à des claims miniers ou à des baux miniers.

Les titres (ou dépôts de garantie) détenus par le bureau du registraire des mines seront transférés au GTNO. Les lignes directrices pour les permis de prospection, qui seront publiées lors du présent exercice, contiendront des instructions pour que les dépôts autres qu’en espèces pour obtenir un permis soient versés au GTNO (étant donné qu’ils seront en vigueur seulement après le 1er avril 2014).