FAQ

How are oil and gas rights administered in the Northwest Territories (NWT)?

The Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment (ITI) is responsible for the administration of oil and gas interests in the onshore NWT. Interests issued in the offshore are the responsibility of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC).

ITI's Petroleum Resources Division has an Oil and Gas Rights unit staffed with a Manager, a Registrar, and a Rights Administration Advisor.

Did existing Exploration Licences (EL), Significant Discovery Licences (SDL), Production Licences (PL) and Oil and Gas Leases change as a result of devolution?

Existing licences and leases continued under the same terms and conditions that were in effect as of March 31, 2014. Active licences and leases on GNWT lands are administered by ITI.

Some licences and leases (e.g., Norman Wells Proven Area Agreement) and certain waste sites were not transferred to the GNWT. All interest holders were notified by AANDC whether their licence or lease was to be transferring.

SDLs that straddle the line of delimitation between onshore and offshore have been divided. ITI now administers the portion of the SDL that is onshore and AANDC administers the portion of the SDL that is offshore under separate licences. Straddling interest holders were sent notifications by AANDC outlining how their interests would be divided.

How are oil and gas interests in the ISR administered?

The ISR is the only region in the NWT that has oil and gas interests in both the onshore and offshore, which straddle two jurisdictions. ITI has the administrative responsibility for the onshore and AANDC retained administrative responsibility for the offshore.

The GNWT, AANDC and the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation have agreed to coordinate and cooperate on their post-devolution jurisdictions in respect of oil and gas resource management in the ISR, particularly where they straddle the onshore and offshore. A Memorandum of Agreement is in place for an initial 20-year term, creating an ISR Oil and Gas Coordination Committee to facilitate information sharing and coordinate straddling resources.

Which GNWT department leads Calls for Nominations and Call for Bids?

ITI leads Calls for Bids in the onshore areas and AANDC continues to administer Calls in the offshore areas. ITI, AANDC and the IRC cooperate and coordinate on rights issuance in the Mackenzie Delta and offshore.

Which GNWT department issues Exploration Licences?

The Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment issues and manages licences in the onshore area. AANDC issues and manages licences for the offshore areas, including the Beaufort Sea.

What legislation governs oil and gas administration on territorial lands?

The Oil and Gas Operations Act (OGOA) and the Petroleum Resources Act (PRA) and their associated regulations.

Who do I talk to about administration of royalties?

ITI is responsible for the administration of the royalty regime established under the Petroleum Resources Act, through its Financial Analysis and Royalties Administration Division.

Who do I talk to about policy development?

ITI is responsible for developing programs, policies and strategies to support the development of the NWT’s petroleum resources, through the Petroleum Resources Division.

FAQ

Comment les droits d’exploitation pétrolière et gazière sont-ils gérés aux TNO?

Le ministère de l’Industrie, du Tourisme et de l’Investissement est chargé de gérer les droits d’exploitation pétrolière et gazière dans la partie continentale des TNO. Les titres délivrés au large des côtes relèvent de la responsabilité d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

La Division des ressources pétrolières du MITI dispose d’un service chargé des droits d’exploitation pétrolière et gazière, composé d’un gestionnaire, d’un registraire et d’un conseiller en gestion des droits.

Après le transfert, des changements ont-ils été apportés aux permis de prospection, aux attestations de découverte importante, aux licences de production et aux concessions de pétrole et de gaz?

Les baux et permis existants seront soumis aux mêmes modalités qu’avant le 31 mars 2014. Les permis et les baux en cours sur les terres territoriales sont gérés par le MITI.

La responsabilité de certains permis et baux (comme celui pour l’Accord sur les réserves prouvées de la région de Norman Wells) et de certaines décharges n’a pas été transférée au GTNO. Les indivisaires ont été avisés par AADNC si leur permis ou bail avait été transféré.

Les attestations de découverte importante qui chevauchent les délimitations entre les terres pétrolifères et gazières intracôtières et extracôtières ont été divisées. Le MITI gère dorénavant les attestations intracôtières et AADNC gère les extracôtières sous des permis distincts. AADNC a prévenu les indivisaires concernés en leur expliquant que leur titre allait être divisé.

Comment sont gérés les titres pétroliers et gaziers dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit?

La région désignée des Inuvialuit est la seule région des TNO qui dispose de titres pétroliers et gaziers aussi bien à l’intérieur des terres qu’au large des côtes, qui sont à cheval sur deux territoires. Le MITI assume la responsabilité administrative des titres situés à l’intérieur des terres et AADNC celle des titres au large des côtes.

Le GTNO, AADNC et la Société régionale inuvialuite ont accepté de coordonner leur travail et de collaborer après le transfert de responsabilités pour ce qui est de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit, en particulier dans les cas où les titres s’étendent de l’intérieur des terres au large des côtes. Un protocole d’accord a été mis en place pour une période initiale de 20 ans et a donné jour à un comité de coordination pour le pétrole et le gaz dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit, en vue de faciliter le partage d’informations et de coordonner les ressources dont la responsabilité est partagée entre différents ordres de gouvernement.

Quel ministère du GTNO est chargé des demandes de désignation et des appels d’offre?

Le MITI encadre les appels d’offres pour les zones intracôtières et AADNC gère les demandes et les appels pour les zones extracôtières. Le MITI, AADNC et la Société régionale inuvialuite coopèrent et se coordonnent pour ce qui est de l’attribution des droits dans le delta du Mackenzie et dans les zones extracôtières.

Quel ministère du GTNO délivre les permis de prospection?

Le MITI délivre et gère les permis pour les zones intracôtières. AADNC délivre et gère les permis pour les zones extracôtières, y compris celles situées dans la mer de Beaufort.

Quelle loi régit la gestion du pétrole et du gaz sur les terres territoriales?

La Loi sur les opérations pétrolières et la Loi sur les hydrocarbures, ainsi que les règlements connexes.

À qui dois-je m’adresser pour la gestion des redevances?

Le MITI est chargé de gérer le régime des redevances institué en vertu de la Loi sur les hydrocarbures, par l’entremise de la Division de l’analyse financière et de l’administration des redevances.

À qui dois-je m’adresser pour l’élaboration des politiques?

Le MITI est chargé de créer des programmes, des politiques et des stratégies pour soutenir la mise en valeur des ressources pétrolières par l’entremise de la Division des ressources pétrolières.