48 Hours to Make a Music Video

News Type: 
Blog Entries

June 11, 2018

The 2018 48 Hour Music Video Competition wrapped up with an awards gala on June 5th. 


Presented by Western Arctic Moving Pictures (WAMP), the competition requires producers to draw from a list of participating bands and then work with the band for 48 hours to create a music video for judging.

Two teams tied for first place this year: Digawolf with Martin Rehak & Harrison Roberts and Sissik Siren with Carson and Ben McGregor. 

Karen Novak (Karen Single Band) and Jay Bulckaert took the Audience Choice Award.

The Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment sponsored the event under the NWT Film Commission’s NWT Film brand. 

NWT Film’s Alinar Dapilos was one of the judges. “There really was no clear-cut winner,” he said.  “Considering the time limit, the submissions were of such high quality, it made for an amazing show.”

The competition also received support from the Canada Council for the Arts and Folk on the Rocks.


Karen Novak (Karen Single Band) and Jay Bulckaert accept the Audience Choice Award from Nancy MacNeil