Dead North Brings Life to NWT Film for Fifth Year

News Type: 
Blog Entries

NWT film fans will be treated to world class chills and thrills as a one-of-a-kind event returns tonight.

Artless Collective’s Dead North Film Festival‘s fifth edition from February 23-26 at Yellowknife’s Capitol Theatre will screen the creations of professional and aspiring filmmakers challenged to create their best original sci-fi, horror or fantasy films in nine weeks in the dead of winter.

More than 30 films by filmmakers from the Northwest Territories and Yukon will compete for Zombears — the festival’s signature trophy — and entertain audiences in Yellowknife.

Each year the festival stacks its judging panel with talented individuals from across Canada, bringing fresh perspectives to the local film sector. This year’s panel includes:

  • Danny Lennon: Founder and director of Prends Ça Court!, initiator and programmer of Telefilm Canada’s Not Short on Talent, and film commissioner at Montreal’s Phi Centre;
  • Andrew Connors: Artistic Director of the Yukon Film Society and Festival Director of the Available Light Film Festival; and
  • Matt Aebig: Practical/Special effects artist based out of Vancouver.

In addition to the competition, festival organizers provide script mentorship to those who submit — a valuable tool for the newcomers who make up most of the lineup — and a full lineup of public workshops to help attendees build new knowledge.

“This festival is special because it allows an opportunity for anyone, no matter their skill level, to participate in the process of film production from start to finish,” MacEachern says. “It provides a supportive environment while building local capacity and strengthening relationships with the wider circumpolar film community.” 

Through NWT Film Commission, the Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment sponsors the Dead North Film Festival each year to encourage the capacity-building opportunities the festival provides in-line with its mandate to develop the skills and knowledge of NWT film producers.