Film and Media Stakeholder Recognition Awards

News Type: 
Blog Entries

As it prepares to release a new five-year plan to position the NWT’s film and media sector as a nationally competitive and sustainable contributor to economic diversification in the NWT, ITI’s NWT Film Commission looked back last week and celebrated how far the NWT’s industry has come.

Within the limits allowed by COVID protocols, a gala event was held at Yellowknife’s Copperhouse Eatery and Lounge to celebrate the industry and 10 years of film and media in the NWT. Five stakeholder organizations, in particular, were honoured at the event. 

Vincent Ret, of Angela Gzowski Photography, captured the following highlights and moments at the red-carpet event.

NWT Film Commissioner Camilla MacEachern served as the evening’s host and MC.

“Tonight is about sitting back and reflecting on how strong our industry has become and all of the possibilities that the future holds. It’s about recognizing the importance of partnerships, roles and determination,” she said.

Many of the evening props and accessories served to highlight how far the NWT’s film and media sector has come in the last decade. Over 40 freelancers, sole proprietors and small corporations currently self-identify as members of the NWT’s film and media industry.

The event featured an NWT-inspired “three-act” menu incorporating a number of locally harvested NWT delicacies, and featuring a mouth-watering Great Slave Lake Fish entrée.

Minister of ITI Caroline Cochrane congratulated attendees for collectively raising the bar on the NWT”s quality film and media product.

“Building community and capacity in film and media in the North is about people and their passions, and what we, as northerners, can do when we see opportunity,” she noted.

The stakeholder appreciation awards were designed and handmade by local glass artists Rosalind Mercredi and David Kellett. 


Manager Tamara Voudrach accepts an award on behalf of the Inuvialuit Communications Society (ICS)

President of the Northwest Territories Professional Media Association Mason Mantla, speaks after receiving an award.

Jeremy Emerson, Executive Director, accepts an award on behalf of Western Arctic Moving Pictures

Rob Ouellette, Chief Executive Officer of the Native Communications Society accepts an award for contributions to the industry

Co-Founders of the Dead North Film Festival, Jay Bulckaert and Pablo Saravanja were recognized for their extraordinary contribution. 

The GNWT released its first film strategy Take One: NWT Film Strategy and Action Plan in 2015. Its recommended actions and investments were designed to improve the economic viability of the NWT film sector and position it for growth. The strength of today’s film and media sector is a direct result of that plan.